City of Sausalito News

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

King Tides May Cause Flooding in December and January

Post Date:12/01/2017 12:00 p.m.
Over the next two months, the combination of lunar phase and the solar perihelion will result in especially high tides, sometimes referred to as "king tides." These conditions occur most often in winter. The closest point to the sun in the earth's orbit is called the perihelion and takes place on approximately January 2 of each calendar year. Perihelion amplifies the magnitude of tidal ranges. When the moon is new or full, the effects of both the moon and the sun on tides are most pronounced. King tides that exceed 6.5' can cause street flooding in Sausalito, most often on Gate 5 Road.
 
In December 2017, high tides exceeding 6.5' are predicted on the following days:
  • Saturday, December 2 at 9:50 a.m.
  • Sunday, December 3 at 10:33 a.m.
  • Monday, December 4 at 11:18 a.m.
  • Tuesday, December 5 at 12:05 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 30 at 8:38 a.m.
  • Sunday, December 31 at 9:25 a.m.
In January 2018, high tides exceeding 6.5' are predicted on the following days:
  • Monday, January 1 at 10:12 a.m.
  • Tuesday, January 2 at 11:01 a.m.
  • Wednesday, January 3 at 11:52 a.m.
  • Sunday, January 28 at 8:15 a.m.
  • Monday, January 29 at 9:08 a.m.
  • Tuesday, January 30 at 10:01 a.m.
  • Wednesday, January 31 at 10:53 a.m.

Rain, lowered barometric pressure as a result of winter storms, and wind (especially out of the south) can increase tide heights and inundation areas. Staff from Sausalito Public Works, the Sausalito Police Department, and Southern Marin Fire monitor tides and flood zones especially carefully on each of these days and proactively place "flooded" signs in the areas that are usually affected by tides of these heights.

GET TIDE PREDICTIONS FOR SAUSALITO

 


Return to full list >>