Vacant Council Seat

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The City Council of the City of Sausalito hereby gives notice that a City Council vacancy has occurred effective April 18, 2017, and that a special election has been called for November 7, 2017 to elect one (1) member of the City Council for an unexpired term (expiring November, 2018). 

Click here for more information on the special election on November 7


On April 18, 2017 Councilmember Herb Weiner, with a term expiring in November 2018, resigned from the City Council. At its May 2, 2017 regular meeting, the City of Sausalito City Council discussed the vacancy and directed staff to solicit applications from interested residents. Applications were accepted from May 3-May 17 to fill the remainder of the term, which will expire in November, 2018. The City Council interviewed eleven city residents on May 23 and May 30 who submitted applications to fill the City Council vacancy through November 2018. At a special meeting on May 30 the Council selected a subset of four applicants to move forward in the appointment process. The applicants selected were: 

  • Susan Cleveland-Knowles 
  • Kate Stohr 
  • Keith Stoneking 
  • Bill Werner 

On June 6 the City Council held a vote to appoint a candidate to the vacant Council position. The Council's vote was two votes for Susan Cleveland-Knowles (Mayor Ray Withy and Councilmember Joe Burns) and two votes for Bill Werner (Vice Mayor Joan Cox and Councilmember Jill Hoffman). Since an appointment required at least three votes, the Council was not able to make an appointment. Therefore, the Council adopted a Resolution calling a special election for November 7, 2017 to fill the vacant Council seat through November 7, 2018.


Residents of Sausalito who are registered to vote in the City of Sausalito and are 18 years and older were eligible to be considered for appointment. Applicants were required to complete an application.

Submitted Applications 

The following individuals submitted applications to the City Clerk by the submission deadline:

Completed Applications

  • Keith Stoneking 
  • Susan Cleveland-Knowles
  • Robin Harris
  • Kate Stohr
  • Bill Werner
  • Nathaniel Hastings
  • Melissa Blaustein
  • Nathan Scripps
  • Terence Moran
  • Isaac Lappert  
  • Patrick Cassidy

Ineligible Applications

  • Scott Wilmore 
  • Charles Turlinski 


Please contact the City Clerk Lilly Whalen at (415) 289-4134 or for more information.